Skip to main content

Minutes for May 1, 2017 (Organizational Meeting)

The Faculty Senate of Eastern Kentucky University met on Monday, May 1, 2017, in the South Ballroom in the Keen Johnson Building. Senator O'Brien called the organizational meeting of the academic year to order at approximately 5:15 p.m.

The following members were absent: M. Bradley, P. Bryden, L. Calderon*, C. DuPont, B. Dyer, I. El-Amouri, C. Elliott, D. Embury*, S. Hoose, B. Mahaney, K. Martin*^, R. Mullaney*^, N. Player, B. Polin, D. Rothe, T. Spigelman*, S. Szabo, B. Young*, W. Zhuang

* Indicates prior notification of absence
^ ALT Caroline Reid attended for K. Martin
^ ALT Kelly Leigers attended for R. Mullaney


Senate Chair Election.  Senator Winslow was elected by acclamation to serve as chair for the 2017-2018 academic year.

Senate Vice-Chair Election.  Senator Ciocca was elected by acclamation to serve as vice chair for the 2017-2018 academic year. 

Committee Elections

  • Elections & University Nominations Committee (1 vacancy)
    Senator Perez was elected by acclamation.
  • Academic Quality Committee (3 vacancies)
    Nominees:  Senators Koger, Shannon, West, E. Liddell
    Senators Koger, Shannon, & E. Liddell were elected.
    (A = 38 votes B = 34 votes C = 22 votes D = 36 votes) (See Also: Individual Votes)
  • Board of Governors (1 vacancy)
    Deborah Givens was elected by acclamation.
  • Budget Committee (1 vacancy)
    Nominees: Senators Bentley and Fitch
    Senator Fitch was elected.
    (A = 22 votes B = 24 votes (See Also: Individual Votes)
  • Executive Committee (1 vacancy)
    Senator Mason was elected by acclamation.
  • Faculty Rights & Responsibilities (2 vacancies)
    Senators Quan and Gershtenson were elected by acclamation.
  • Faculty Welfare Committee (3 vacancies)
    Nominees: Senators Bentley, Cogdill, Eser, Szabo
    Senators Bentley, Cogdill, and Szabo were elected.
    (A = 29 votes B = 31 votes C = 27 votes D = 33 votes) (See Also: Individual Votes)
  • Information Technology Committee (2 vacancies)
    Senators Huffman and Cogdill were elected by acclamation.
  • Rules Committee (2 vacancies)
    Senators Bishop-Ross and West were elected by acclamation.
  • COSFL (1 rep & 2 alternates needed)
    Nominees: Senators Fleischer, Kopacz, Cunningham
    Senator Kopacz was elected to serve as the COSFL representative, with Senator Fleischer elected as first alternate and Senator Cunningham as second alternate.
    (A = 15 votes B = 27 votes C = 2 votes) (See Also: Individual Votes)


The meeting adjourned at approximately 6 p.m.

click here for printable version of minutes

(See also: Polling Results by Motions & by Senator)

You will need to have the Adobe Acrobat Reader plug-in installed on your computer in order to view and print a hard copy of the minutes.

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/