Skip to main content

Minutes for April 30, 2001 (Organizational Meeting)

The Faculty Senate of Eastern Kentucky University met on Monday, April 30, 2001, in the South Room of the Keen Johnson Building. Senator Taylor called the organizational meeting for the 2001-2002 academic year to order at 5:00 p.m.

The following members of the Senate were absent:

Banks* Farrar* Gakpo
Harley Hill Hodge
Huebner Messerich Polmanteer

*denotes prior notification of absence to the Faculty Senate Secretary


Faculty Senate Chair Election. There were two candidates for the chair's position: Senator Flanagan and Senator Schlomann. Senator Schlomann was elected to serve as chair. At this point Dr. Taylor turned the meeting over to the new chair.

Faculty Senate Secretary. Pauletta King was elected to continue to serve as Secretary for the Faculty Senate.

Executive Committee. There were two openings on the Executive Committee. Four individuals were nominated: Senator Johnson, Senator O'Connor, Senator Schuster and Senator Collins. Senator Johnson and Senator O'Connor were elected.

Elections Committee. There was one position available on the Elections Committee. Two people were nominated: Senator Polmanteer and Senator Rini. Senator Rini was elected.

Rules Committee. There were two positions available on the Rules Committee. Three individuals were nominated: Senator Fisher, Senator Rainey, and Senator Schuster. Senators Rainey and Schuster were elected.

Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Committee. Two position were available on this committee. Three individuals were nominated: Senator Callahan, Senator Long, and Senator K. Jones. Senators K. Jones and Long were elected.

Committee on Committees. One position was available and there were four nominees: Senator Rahimzadeh, Senator Hubbard, Senator D. Jones, and Senator Jackson. Senator Rahimzadeh was elected.

COSFL Representative. Senator Falkenberg was elected to continue as the COSFL representative with Senators Flanagan and Siegel elected to serve as alternates.


The meeting was adjourned at approximately 6 p.m.

click here for printable version of minutes

You will need to have the Adobe Acrobat Reader plug-in installed on your computer in order to view and print a hard copy of the minutes.

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/