Skip to main content

Minutes for April 16, 2018 (Special Session)

The Faculty Senate of Eastern Kentucky University met on Monday, April 16, 2018 in the South Ballroom in the Keen Johnson Building. Senator Winslow called the eighth meeting of the academic year to order at approximately 3:30 p.m.

The following members were absent:

M. Benson* C. Cassidy S. Hoose*
L. Kay*^ S. Perez* T. Stevens*^
R. Turner*    

Indicates prior notification of absence to the Faculty Senate Secretary
^ ALT Mary Liu attended for L. Kay
^ ALT Daniel Roush attended for T. Stevens


Senator Dyer moved approval of the April 2, 2018 minutes as written, seconded by Senator Rothe. Motion carried. (YES =  53 votes NO = 1 vote ABSTAIN = 2 votes) (See Also: Individual Votes)


Report of the Provost, Deans, and FCD. Prior to the meeting, Senator Whitehouse shared additional information on Economics and Theatre.

Senator Eser moved, seconded by Senator Ciocca to suspend the Senate rules which limit discussion per senator to five minutes and limit senators to speak no more than twice to a motion. Chair Winslow reminded that on this type of motion there can be no debate and there must be a two-thirds majority vote to pass. Motion failed for lack of a two-thirds majority vote. (YES = 29 votes | NO = 25 votes | ABSTAIN = 3 votes) (See Also: Individual Votes)

Senator Kopacz moved the following, seconded by Senator Powell.

Reject the report of the Provost, Deans, and Faculty Committee on Dismissal because:

  1. This report should not be followed because the process did not follow policy 4.6.16
  2. Does not follow open meeting laws
  3. Does not follow AAUP guidelines on dismissal of tenured faculty
  4. Report is not accurate about Economics – was not included on 2016 watch list.

Motion carried. (YES = 43 votes | NO = 10 votes | ABSTAIN = 5 votes) (See Also: Individual Votes)

Senator Kopacz requested Chair Winslow to carefully review the meeting transcript in order to adequately capture the body’s point of view for the Senate’s report to the Provost, Deans, and Faculty Committee on Dismissal.

Senator Eser moved that the Senate support a resolution to request the Provost to declare the meeting of the Provost, Deans, and FCD on May 4th as an open meeting. Motion carried. (YES = 50 votes | NO = 4 votes | ABSTAIN = 1 vote) (See Also: Individual Votes)


Senator Whitehouse moved to adjourn at approximately 4:45pm.

click here for printable version of minutes  
(See also:  Polling Results by Motions & by Senator)

You will need to have the Adobe Acrobat Reader plug-in installed on your computer in order to view and print a hard copy of the minutes.

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/