Skip to main content

Minutes for May 6, 2002 (Organizational Meeting)

The Faculty Senate of Eastern Kentucky University met on Monday, May 6, 2002, in the South Room of the Keen Johnson Building immediately following the regularly scheduled meeting. Senator Schlomann called the meeting to order at 4:30 p.m.

The following members of the Senate were absent:

A. Banks S. Black C. Callahan
D. Carter* M. Dean E. Fenton*
A. Gossage D. Jackson P. McGuire
R. Messerich J. Payne W. Reynolds*
E. Rini K. Werking J. Stephens

*denotes prior notification of absence to the Faculty Senate Secretary


Faculty Senate Chair Election. There were two candidates for the chair's position: Senator Flanagan and Senator Johnson. Senator Johnson was elected to serve as chair. At this point Senator Schlomann turned the meeting over to the new chair.

Executive Committee. There were four openings on the Executive Committee. Four individuals were nominated: Senator Collins, Senator Hubbard, Senator Konkel and Senator Milde. All four were approved by the Senate to serve on the Executive Committee.

Budget Committee. There were three openings on the Budget Committee. The following three individuals were nominated: Senator Wade, Senator Jones and Senator Hart. All three were approved by the Senate.

Elections Committee. There was no openings on the Elections Committee.

Rules Committee. There were three positions available on the Rules Committee. Three individuals were nominated: Senator Rainey, Senator McKenney and Senator Matthews. All three were approved by the Senate.

Committee on Committees. One position was available and Senator G. Yoder was nominated and approved by the Senate.

Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Committee. Two position were available on this committee. Senator Marken was nominated to complete former Senator Jones term for one more year and Senator Koppes was nominated for the other position available. Both were approved by the Senate.

COSFL Representative. Senator Siegel was elected to serve as the COSFL representative with Senators Dunston and Senator Smith elected to serve as alternates.

Faculty Senate Secretary. Pauletta King was elected to continue to serve as Secretary for the Faculty Senate.


The meeting was adjourned at approximately 5 p.m.

click here for printable version of minutes

You will need to have the Adobe Acrobat Reader plug-in installed on your computer in order to view and print a hard copy of the minutes.

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/