Skip to main content

Minutes for May 2, 2005 (Organizational Meeting)

The Faculty Senate of Eastern Kentucky University met on Monday, May 2, 2005, in the South Room of the Keen Johnson Building. Senator Siegel called the organizational meeting of the 2005-2006 academic year to order at approximately 5:30 p.m.


Senator Siegel announced that the first Executive Committee meeting for next year is scheduled for Monday, August 29 and the first Senate meeting is scheduled for Monday, September 12.

Senator Siegel announced that the President's convocation will be held on August 15.


Faculty Senate Chair Election. At the April meeting, Senator Siegel was nominated for the chair's position. The majority of the Senate were in agreement and Senator Siegel was re-elected chair for the 2005-2006 academic year.

Budget Committee. (Two positions available.) Senators Ciocca and C. Taylor were nominated at the April meeting. Senators May and Neumann were also nominated. Senator May and Senator C. Taylor were elected.

Rules Committee. (Two positions available.) The following individuals were nominated at the April meeting: Senators Gossage, Randles, Rainey, and McKenney. Senator Gossage's term is up and her name was removed from the ballot, and Senator Randles requested that his name be removed as well. Senators Rainey and McKenney were elected by acclamation.

Elections Committee. (One position available.) Senator May was nominated at the April meeting. Senator May was elected by acclamation.

Faculty Welfare Committee. (One position available.) Senator Wright was nominated at the April meeting. In addition, Senator Hensley, Senator Waters, and Senator Ciocca were nominated. Senator Wright was elected. (In early Summer Senator Wright resigned from Eastern and Senator Ciocca, second runner-up, was asked to serve on the Faculty Welfare Committee.)

COSFL Representative. (One representative & two alternates.) At the April meeting the following were nominated: Senators P. Black, Ware and Robles. Senator Ware was elected to serve as the COSFL representative with Senators P. Black and Robles serving as alternates.


The meeting was adjourned at approximately 6:10 p.m.

click here for printable version of minutes

You will need to have the Adobe Acrobat Reader plug-in installed on your computer in order to view and print a hard copy of the minutes.

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/