Skip to main content

Minutes for May 2, 2016 (Organizational Meeting)

The Faculty Senate of Eastern Kentucky University met on Monday, May 2, 2016, in the Perkins Building, Quads A/B. Senator O'Brien called the organizational meeting of the academic year to order at approximately 6:45 p.m.

The following members were absent: T. Adams, M. Bradley, P. Bryden, D. Corley, K. Creech, C. DuPont, B. Dyer, I. El-Amouri, D. Embury, E. Frederickson, T. Giles* K. Gray-Denson, T. Hartch, S. Hunt*, E. Li, E. Morrett, B. Polin, N. Powell*, D. Robinson,T. Stevens*^, H. Taylor*, S. Zeigler, W. Zhueng

* Indicates prior notification of absence
^ ALT Kimberly Hale attended for T. Stevens


Senate Chair Election.  Senator O'Brien was elected to serve as chair for the 2016-2017 academic year.

Senate Vice-Chair Election.  Senator Givens was elected to serve as vice chair for the 2016-2017 academic year. 

Committee Elections

  • Elections & University Nominations Committee (2 vacancies)
    Senators Swain and Gooch were elected.
  • Academic Quality Committee (1 vacancy)
    Senator Corley was elected.
  • Budget Committee (3 vacancies)
    Senators Ciocca, Eser and E. Liddell were elected.
  • Executive Committee (4 vacancies)
    Senators Corley, G. Hunter, Kay, and Spigelman were elected.
  • Information Technology Committee (3 vacancies)
    Senators Baggett, Eser and Young were elected.
  • Rules Committee (1 vacancy)
    Senator Turner was elected.
  • Welfare Committee (3 vacancies)
    Senators Mullaney, Szabo, and Turner were elected.
  • COSFL (1 rep & 2 alternates needed)
    Senator Kopacz was elected to serve as the COSFL representative, Senator Mason was elected as first alternate, and Senator Nowak was elected as second alternate.


The meeting adjourned at approximately 7:45 p.m.

click here for printable version of minutes

You will need to have the Adobe Acrobat Reader plug-in installed on your computer in order to view and print a hard copy of the minutes.

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/