Skip to main content

Minutes for May 5, 2003 (Organizational Meeting)

The Faculty Senate of Eastern Kentucky University met on Monday, May 5, 2003, in the South Room of the Keen Johnson Building. Senator Johnson called the organizational meeting for the 2003-2004 academic year to order at approximately 5:20 p.m.


Senator Coyer discussed the proper etiquette for when an interpreter is present at the Senate meetings. The Senate Secretary will be responsible for scheduling the interpreter.


Faculty Senate Chair Election. At the April meeting, Keith Johnson was nominated for the chair's position. The majority of the Senate were in agreement and Senator Johnson was re appointed chair for the 2003-2004 academic year.

Elections Committee. All five positions were available on the Elections Committee. Five people were nominated and elected by acclamation: Senator DeBolt, Senator Newsome, Senator Everett, Senator Fenton and Senator Harley.

Executive Committee. There were four openings on the Executive Committee.
Four individuals were nominated and elected by acclamation: Senator Konkel, Senator Callahan, Senator Flanagan and Senator D. Jackson.

Budget Committee. There were two positions available on the Budget Committee. Three individuals were nominated: Senator Wolf, Senator Fenton and Senator Siegel. Senators Wolf and Siegel were elected.

Rules Committee. There were two positions available on the Rules Committee. Three individuals were nominated: Senator Cooper, Senator M. Yoder and Senator Hubbard. Senators M. Yoder and Hubbard were elected.

Faculty Welfare Committee. There were two positions available on the Faculty Welfare Committee. Five individuals were nominated: Senator Collins, Senator D. Pierce, Senator Rahimzadeh, Senator C. Jackson and Senator Fenton. Senators Collins and Rahimzadeh were elected.

Committee on Committees. Five positions were available and there were six nominees: Senator Shasby, Senator Vance, Senator Coyer, Senator Wolf, Senator Rahimzadeh and Senator Fister. The following five senators were elected: Shasby, Vance, Coyer, Wolf, and Fister.

Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Committee. Three position were available on this committee. Four individuals were nominated: Senator Fister, Senator Coyer, Senator Dunston and Senator D. Pierce. Senators Fister, Dunston and D. Pierce were elected.

COSFL Representative. Senators Siegel and Smith were elected to continue as the COSFL representatives with Senators Flanagan and McKenney elected to serve as alternates.

Faculty Senate Secretary. Pauletta King was elected to continue to serve as Secretary for the Faculty Senate.


The meeting was adjourned at approximately 6:10 p.m.

click here for printable version of minutes

You will need to have the Adobe Acrobat Reader plug-in installed on your computer in order to view and print a hard copy of the minutes.

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/